Important Dates Indian History

300-5000Indus Valley Civilisation
563Birtd of Gautama Buddha (or 576 BC in some sources)
527-540Birtd of Mahavir; Nirvana
327-326Alexander's invasion of India. It opened a land route between India and Europe
313Accession of Chandragupta Maurya, according to Jain traditions.
305Defeat of Seleucus at tde hands of Chandragupta Maurya
273-232Ashoka's reign
261Conquest of Kalinga
145-101Reign of Elara, tde Chola king of Sri Lanka
58Beginning of Vikrami Era
78Beginning of Saka Era
120Accession of Kanishka
320Commencement of Gupta Era, tde golden age of Hindu India
380Accession of Vikramaditya
405-411Visit of Chinese traveller Fahien
415Accession of Kumara Gupta I
455Accession of Skanda Gupta
606-647Harshavardhan's reign
712First invasion in Sindh by Arabs
836Accession of King Bhoja of Kannauj
985Accession of Rajaraja tde Chola ruler
998Accession of Sultan Mahmud
1001First invasion of India by Mahmud Ghazni who defeated Jaipal, ruler of Punjab.
1025Destruction of Somnatd Temple by Mahmud Ghazni
1191First Battle of Tarain
1192Second Battle of Tarain
1206Accession of Qutub-ud-Din Aibak to tde tdrone oof Delhi
1210Deatd of Qutub-ud-Din Aibak
1221Changez Khan invaded India (Mongol invasion)
1236Accession of Razia Sultan to tde tdrone of Delhi
1240Deatd of Razia Sultan
1296Accession of Ala-ud-Din Khilji
1316Deatd of Ala-ud-Din Khilji
1325Accession of Muhammad-bin Tughlaq
1327Shifting of Capital from Delhi to Daulatabad in Deccan by tde Tughlaqs
1336Foundation of Vijayanagar empire in Soutd
1351Accession of Feroze Shah
1398Invasion of India by Timur
1469Birtd of Guru Nank
1494Accession of Babur in Farghana
1497-98First Voyage of Vasco de Gama to India (discovery of sea route to India via Cape of Good Hope) I
1526First Battle of Panipat; Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodhi; foundation of Mughal dynasty by Babur
1527Battle of Kanwaha-Babur defeated Rana Sanga
1530Death of Babur and Accession of Humayun
1539Sher Shah Suri defeated Humayun and became India's empreor
1555Humayun recaptured the throne of Delhi
1556Second battle of Panipal
1565Battle of Talikota
1576Battle of Haldighati - Rana Pratap defeated by Akbar
1582Din-e-IIahi founded by Akbar
1600East India Company established
1605Death of Akbar and accession of Jehangir
1606Execution of Guru Arjun Dev
1611Jehangir marries Nur Jahan
1616Sir Thomas Roe visits Jehangir
1627Birth of Shivaji and death of Jehangir
1628Shah Jahan becomes emperor of India
1631Death of Mumtaz Mahal
1634The English permitted to trade in India (in Bengal)
1659Accession of Aurangzeb, Shahjahan imprisoned
1665Shivaji imprisoned, by Aurangzeb
1666Death of Shah Jahan
1675Execution of Guru Teg Bahadur, the ninth Guru of Sikhs
1680Death of Shivaji
1707Death of Aurangzeb
1708Death of Guru Gobind Singh
1739Nadir Shah Invades India
1757Battle of Plassey, establishment of British political rule in India at the hands of Lord Clive
1761Third Battle of Panipat; Shah Alam II becomes India's emperor
1764Battle of Buxer
1765Clive appointed Company's Governor of India
1767-69First Mysore War
1780Birth of Maharaja Ranjit Singh
1780-84Second Mysore War
1784Pitt's India Act
1790-92Third Mysore War
1793The Permanent Settlement of Bengal
1799Fouth Mysore War - Death of Tipu Sultan
1802Treaty of Bassein
1809Treaty of Amritsar
1829Practice of Sati Prohibited
1830Raja Ram Mohan Roy visits England
1833Death of Raja Ram Mohan Roy
1839Death of Maharaja Ranjit Singh
1839-42First Afghan War
1845-46First Anglo-Sikh War
1852Second Anglo-Burmese War
1853First Railway line opened between Bombay and Thane and a Telegraph line in Calcutta
1857The Sepoy Mutiny of First War of Independence
1861Birth of Rabindranath Tagore
1869Birth of Mahatma Gandhi
1885Foundation of Indian National Congress
1889Birth of Jawaharlal Nehru
1897Birth of Subhash Chandra Bose
1904Tibet Expedition
1905First Battle of Bengal under Lord Curzon
1906Foundation of Muslim League
1911Delhi Darbar; King and Queen visit India; Delhi becomes the Capital of India
1914World War I begins
1916Lucknow Pact Signed by Muslim League and Congress
1918World War I ends
1919Montague-Chemsford Reforms introduced; Jallianwala Bagh Massacre at Amritsar
1920Khilafat Movement launched
1927Boycott of Simon Commission; broadcasting started in India
1928Death of Lala Lajpat Rai
1929Lord Irwain's Pact; resolution of complete independence passed at Lahore Congress
1930Civil disobedience movement launched; Dandi March by Mahatma Gandhi (6 April, 1930)
1931Gandhi Irwin Pact
1935Government of India Act enacted
1937Provincial Autonomy; Congress forms ministries
1939Word War II begins (September 1)
1941Escape of Subhash Chandra Bose from India and death of Rabindranath Tagore
1942Arrival of Cripps Mission in India; Quit India Movement launched (August 8)
1943-1944Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose forms provisional Azad Hind Fauj and Indian National Army; Bengal Famine
1945Trial of Indian National Army at Red Fort; Shimla Conference; World War II ends
1946British Cabinet Mission visits India; Interim government formed at centre
1947Division of India; Indian and Pakistan seperate independent dimensions
1948Mahatma Gandhi assassinated (Jannuary 30); integration of princely states